It all started from the day we drew our first breath, caged by the confines of the uterine walls, we yearn,  a blind longing, for the freedom of the real world. We get to the real world only to betray the quietness of the health center with loud cries of dissatisfaction; we now want something more. Even as toddlers, we often find ourselves reaching out for the other kid’s only toy, though we are encircled by varieties of toys that the other kid could only wish to have. As teenagers this nature still lingers in our DNA. Today, the chess club seem, to us, to be the most interesting in high school, tomorrow, we feel a wistful longing for change billowing within us just because the other dude in the debate club just won an award. Being a good science student turns boring, because the guys in arts class are very funny; we switch, only to perform badly in a field we thought was be best for us.

Well, no doubt, we’ve all felt, and may still fell this way in the course of our lifetime. We’ve all wanted something so badly, only to get it and sink into the pool of the wistful revelation that, that’s not all we actually wanted; we often want more, even after getting the more we just longed for. Life would be a lot easier if only the boundaries of our wants were reinforced with strong bars of contentment, forming a territory only big enough to squeeze in our needs; I don’t know for sure, am just saying.

I must agree with you, it isn’t bad to feel this way. It is just the nature of man to always bend towards what we see as greener pastures, only to get there and wonder if our lenses were tinted green at first sight. It actually happened to me, a lot. I remember how, after watching High School Musicals, I consciously launched into this self-conviction: that I can sing. I just had to sing. “I have to know how to sing before I can act a movie like that,” I told myself. I stormed Google with questions like: how to get a good voice; how to be a good actor; how to sing; am pretty sure I can’t remember all the questions I asked. Pretty crazy, I know. After weeks of fruitless travail I found myself giving up the wind chase.

I also get goose bumps whenever I watch movies with a happily ever after ending like: the protagonist, preferably a youngster, winning a championship, or something; the crowd cheering, garnished with a soothing background music, and the theatrical slow-motion-view of a moment I wonder ever exists. This used to happen to me a lot then, it still happens to me, once in a while, though.

Why we feel this way

The problem is not in us feeling this way, the problem is in what we do when we feel this way. Like i said before, this feeling is natural, yearning for something we tag as success, or fulfillment, a blind longing to be in shoes whose size is a mystery to us. What we unknowingly long for is not the position – protagonist hero of a  movie, the winner of a championship tournament, the top-ten billboard ranking musician, etc – what we yearn for is more: the self-fulfillment these positions brings; the attention; the praises; the fame; the self-esteem, and these are not tied to any profession, or position in specific. What I’m struggling to say is: Self-discovery is the only solution to this here and there disease. People who have done great things are people of convictions; people who believe in something they can die for. I’m talking about people who discovered their purpose, and are not intimidated by other people’s achievements because they are fully convinced that theirs is just a matter of time.

When we have a purpose we can live for, then we’ll seldom be moved by the wind of uncertainty.  Colonel Sanders – founder of KFC – believed strongly in his Chicken recipe. Despite the 1009 “No’s” he received (yes, you read right, one thousand and nine “No’s”) he still didn’t doubt his pursuit. At the age of sixty-five, when others retired, he built an empire of fried chicken.

There should be one thing that drives us. Something that transcends beyond the boundaries of career, that is more fun than work, that makes you wake up in the morning and say, “this is my dream!” That one thing is what God has wired you for, and any other thing outside that one thing can never be like it.

